Attorney John J. MacKinnon
35 East Livingston Avenue
Columbus, Ohio 43215
(614) 224-1008

24 Hour Service

The Comprehensive Resource for the Columbus Ohio DUI Process
Not sure what to do?
Want to save your license?
Want to avoid severe punishment?

Ohio's Drunk Driving Law - Potential Penalties

First Offense
  • Misdemeanor of first degree (up to (6) months in jail)
  • Minimum three (3) days in jail or three (3) days with an alcohol counseling class
  • Minimum of $375.00 fine
  • Minimum license suspension of 180 days
  • Six (6) points on driving record
First Offense - High Test
  • If you take a breath test and test .17 or higher you are subject to higher minimum penalties under Ohio law
  • Three (3) days in jail plus three (3) days with an alcohol counseling class
  • Manadatory red and yellow plates
Second Offense and Higher
  • Manadatory jail time after second offense or higher
  • One (1) year driving rights suspension or higher
  • Possible alcohol assessment and treatment
  • Manadatory red and yellow plates
There are many complications to Ohio's drunk driving law. Contact Mr. MacKinnon to sit down for a free personal evaluation of your case and how Ohio's law will effect your particular situation.